About Us 2020-10-27T20:15:01-04:00

Mission Statement

RWA’s mission is to promote wireless opportunities for rural telecommunications companies through advocacy and education in a manner that best represents the interests of its membership.

Advocate for Rural Wireless Carriers

RWA is a trade association representing rural wireless carriers who each serve fewer than 100,000 subscribers. RWA’s members have joined together to speed delivery of new, efficient, and innovative wireless technologies to the populations of remote and underserved sections of the country.

RWA’s members provide mobile and fixed wireless services to their subscribers and support the subscribers of larger carriers while roaming in their rural service areas. RWA’s members are small businesses serving or seeking to serve secondary, tertiary and rural markets. Our membership is comprised of both independent wireless carriers and wireless carriers that are affiliated with rural telephone companies.

Supporting Rural America, Strengthens All of America – Advocacy. Education. Relationships.

Board of Directors

Jana Wallace, President
Jana Wallace, PresidentCOO, Panhandle Tel. Coop. (PTCI) (OK)
John Nettles, Vice President
John Nettles, Vice PresidentPresident, Pine Belt Wireless (AL)
Jake Baldwin, Secretary
Jake Baldwin, SecretaryGeneral Counsel, Bravado Wireless
Mike Higgins, Jr., Treasurer
Mike Higgins, Jr., TreasurerGeneral Manager, West Central Wireless (TX)
Eric Cramer
Eric CramerPresident and CEO, RiverStreet Wireless (NC)
Kelley Dunne
Kelley DunneCEO, Novation (VA)
Mike Laskowsky
Mike LaskowskyNetwork Operations Manager, United Wireless (KS)
Chris Townson
Chris TownsonCEO, DTC Communication (TN)
George Woodward
George WoodwardPresident & CEO, Trilogy Networks, Inc. (CO)
Bert Potts, Ex Officio
Bert Potts, Ex OfficioWireless Manager, STRATA Networks (UT)
Mike Kilgore, Ex Officio
Mike Kilgore, Ex OfficioCEO, Sagebrush Cellular/Nemont (MT)

Our Team

Carri Bennet
Carri BennetGeneral Counsel
Michele Giroux
Michele GirouxChief Operating Officer
Stephen Sharbaugh
Stephen SharbaughLegislative and Policy Analyst

Standing Committees

The Public Policy Committee is tasked with assessing the impact of legislative and regulatory policy developments that stand to affect the operations of small, rural wireless carriers. This committee helps shape the association’s legislative and regulatory agendas and public policy initiatives in order to better serve the associations’ members.

  • John Nettles, Pine Belt – Chair
  • Amit Ancikovsky, Ceragon
  • Jim Brake, Ceragon
  • Justin Brewster, Pioneer
  • Jake Baldwin, Cross Wireless
  • Matthew Dostal, EBI Consulting
  • Chad Duval, Moss Adams
  • Cameron Galbraith, Sitetracker
  • Katie Heyl, Baicells
  • Lynn Merrill, Monte R. Lee & Company
  • Bert Potts, STRATA Networks
  • Francisco Sant’Anna, Ciena
  • Boun Senekham, Baicells
  • Jeff Smith, GVNW Consulting
  • Jerry Tilley, Nemont
  • Jana Wallace, PTCI/ Panhandle
  • Kelley Wells, PTCI/ Panhandle

The Education Committee guides the association in assessing its members’ educational needs. The committee provides educational briefings and resource recommendations to RWA’s members on technical, financial, operational, and marketing matters. The Educational Committee also serves as a clearinghouse for instructional material and educational webcasts that serve to inform RWA members about revenue generating opportunities and/or cost saving methodologies.

  • Chris Ruhl, Cross Wireless- Chairperson
  • Jake Baldwin, Cross Wireless – Board Liaison
  • Jim Brave, Ceragon
  • Brett Chester, Sitetracker
  • Anuja Chaand, Federated Wireless
  • Renee Ernster, Copper Valley
  • Dave Fritz, Nokia
  • Clayton Fulton, Cross Wireless
  • Grif Griffin, West Central Wireless
  • Max Hahn, Baicells
  • Katie Heyl, Baicells
  • Dave Kirk, t3 Broadband
  • Curtis Knobloch, Telispire
  • Alan Lewis, Hyde Company
  • David Mould, Ericsson
  • Howard Sears, NetNumber
  • Boun Senekhen, Baicells
  • Bob Stone, Baicells
  • Jana Wallace, PTCI/ Panhandle

RWA is a member-driven association and our annual membership investments are the primary funding source for RWA’s powerful and successful advocacy. The purpose of the committee is to increase our membership base, generate ideas for and activate new member services to continue to strengthen our association.

  • Eric Cramer – Board Liaison
  • Todd Houseman, United Wireless
  • Dave Kirk, t3 Broadband
  • Dennie Mecham, Strata Networks
  • Lynn Merrill, Monte R. Lee & Company
  • Patrick Rhyne, Wells Fargo Advisors
  • Roger Schmitz, Telsasoft
  • Tanya Sullivan, PlusOne
  • Mike Laskowsky, United Wireless – Chair
  • John Baker, Mavenir
  • Jim Brake, Ceragon
  • Christopher Crowe, t3 Broadband
  • Rob Falkner, t3 Broadband
  • Griff Griffin, West Central Wireless
  • Katie Heyl, Baicells
  • Ken Jackson, Federated Wireless
  • Jie Lewis, Baicells
  • Nick Martin, Bravado Wireless
  • Lynn Merrill, Monte R. Lee & Company
  • John Nettles, Pine Belt
  • Chad Norman, Bravado Wireless
  • Amit Patel, Nokia
  • Bert Potts, Strata Networks
  • Howard Sears, NetNumber
  • Bob Stone, Baicells
  • Karpura Suryadevara, Amdocs

Each year, the Nominating Committee issues a call for nominations for vacancies on the Board and associated committees and councils. The Nominating Committee reviews nominations and makes recommendations to the Board.

  • Bert Potts, Strata Networks
  • Eric Cramer, RiverStreet Networks
  • Todd Houseman, United Wireless

RWA’s specific-issue Councils are established by the Board. In contrast to the more generally focused standing committees, each Council serves as a narrowly focused information sharing and policy development forum for members interested in a specific technology, service, or issue. Councils may make recommendations to standing committees or to the Board regarding RWA’s involvement in such issues.

Councils include:

  • Rural National Security Council
  • Strategic Relationships
  • Roaming
  • Mobile Devices
  • Marketing
  • Content and Premium Services
  • Towers and Siting
  • Wireless Resellers

Become a Member

Learn more about the benefits of membership!
Translate »